Import of grain from non-EU countries

Some grain species require a phytosanitary certificate and a control inspection, when grain is imported from certain non-EU countries. Import requirements aim to prevent the spread of harmful plant diseases and pests through grain.

A phytosanitary certificate and an import inspection are required for wheat (Triticum),  rye (Secale) and triticale (X Triticosecale)  when they are imported from the following countries:

  • Afghanistan
  • India
  • Iran
  • Iraq
  • Mexico
  • Nepal
  • Pakistan
  • South Africa
  • United States

The import of products requiring a phytosanitary certificate is only permitted through specified points of entry. Such imports must be reported to plant health inspectors, for the arrangement of an inspection.

An importer of vegetables requiring a phytosanitary certificate must register with Evira’s plant health register.